Sunday, 28 April 2013

After weeks of deadlock, Italy has a new coalition government

On Wednesday 24th April Enrico Letta, the deputy leader of the centre-left Democratic party (PD), was named prime minister designate and tasked with forming a broad coalition government.
On the 27th of April, Letta announced the names of his ministers.
The composition of the government is broad and controversial, and includes 21 ministers:

Angelino Alfano (PdL) -- Minister of the Interiors and Deputy Prime Minister
Gaetano Quagliarello (PdL) -- Constitutional Reforms
Emma Bonino (Radicali) -- Foreign Affairs
Annamaria Cancellieri (ex Monti) -- Justice
Mario Mauro (Scelta Civica) -- Defence
Fabrizio Saccomanni -- Economy
Maurizio Lupi (PdL) -- Infrastructures and Transports
Dario Franceschini (PD) -- Relationships with the Parliament
Graziano Delrio (PD) -- Regional Affairs
Enzo Moavero Milanesi (Scelta Civica) -- European Affairs
Nunzia DeGirolamo (PdL) -- Agricultural Policy
Andrea Orlando (PD) -- Environment
Enrico Giovannini -- Work and Social Policy
Maria Chiara Carrozza (PD) -- Education and University
Beatrice Lorenzin (PdL) -- Health
Carlo Trigilia (PD) -- Territorial Cohesion
Cécile Kyenge (PD) -- Integration
Josefa Idem (PD) -- Equal Opportunities and Sport
Gianpiero D'Alia (Scelta Civica) --  Public Administration and Simplification
Massimo Bray (PD) --  Cultural heritage and Tourism
Flavio Zanonato (PD) -- Economic Development

Here's the link to some articles published by the Guardian and Reuters on the topic.

Enrico Letta, the new Italian Prime Minister
The Ministers

No comments: